Programme & Speakers

The Posidonia Sea Tourism Forum

 

Tuesday 25 May 2021, 10:00 - 17:00 EET │ 09:00 - 16:00 CET

 

10:00 EET │ 09:00 CET
Posidonia Opening Remarks - Event instructions

 

10:10 EET │ 09:10 CET
Opening Statements

 

10:15 - 11:15 EET │ 09:15 - 10:15 CET
SESSION 1 The Restart of Cruising in Europe and the Mediterranean

Cruise operators are still facing uncertainty as to when their operations can recommence at a viable level to sustain them as businesses. How does the industry envision the restart and how will post pandemic cruising differ from the pre-COVID19 reality? What are the main concerns in the interim and how are cruise operators dealing with them?

In Europe ECDC was quite quick to issue protocols and approve restarts. We have seen some successful examples, among them MSC, TUI and Costa.

The interim period until cruising returns to a new normality will be long drawn and it cannot be denied that everything will be different in the post pandemic world. How will this affect a business philosophy that led to the economies of scale model that prevailed in the mainstream cruise market pre-COVID 19?

The impact of the pandemic on air travel is equally devastating and there are potential airlift repercussions, as well as increased cost looming ominously. How will that affect global cruising, particularly for the North American market’s forays to Europe and the Mediterranean?

 

11:45 - 12:45 EET │ 10:45 - 11:45 CET
SESSION 2 Impact on Shore excursions & Destination management with new Health Protocols

It is not enough to have a well managed system of health protocols onboard, cruising -especially in Europe- is very shore intensive. It is obvious that some coordination must be struck between users (cruise lines) and destination states in this regard.

What’s the outlook for shore excursions in 2021? Will cruise passengers be limited to specific sights and experiences during their shore visit or will they be able to explore the destination? How will this impact revenue for the destination?

Is some kind of international certification that includes training an option, so as to achieve a protocol uniformity? If so, who will invest in it and would it involve a close cooperation between organizations such as CDC and ECDC. In short, should destinations provide some recognised level of assurances and guarantees to be included in a cruise itinerary?

Another important issue is that of crew transfers, local handling of crew signing on and off, meeting on shore testing and quarantine requirements. Would the cruise industry be interested in a well managed crew movement hub that will solve some of the problems in this area of concern?

 

13:00 - 13:45 EET │ 12:00 - 12:45 CET
DISCUSSION “The Outlook for the 2021 season for Cruising in Greece”

Expectations for the 2021 season will be in the spotlight during this interesting discussion, which will be held in the Greek language.

Senior representatives of the Greek Cruise industry will try to forecast what can be expected and whether vaccinations will have immediate effect and impact last minute bookings.

 

14:30 - 15:30 EET │ 13:30 - 14:30 CET
SESSION 3 The “Green Deal” and the Environmental Challenges Ahead

Along with the pandemic, cruising and the destinations that serve it are facing several environmental challenges.

In addition, there is the global climate change threat that needs to be addressed by all transportation and automotive sectors. It is a fact that cruise lines have made serious investments in new technology to develop greener cruise ships, but is that enough?

What other environmental directions is the industry taking and how is it dealing with older equipment in their fleets?

 

16:00 - 17:00 EET │ 15:00 - 16:00 CET
SESSION 4 Impact of COVID-19 on Ports

Before the pandemic, many ports in the East Med had already announced impressive investment plans and launched the upgrade of their cruise facilities. What is the current status of those investment plans one year after COVID-19 first impacted the cruise industry?

2021 Speakers

  • 2021 Speakers TBA shortly
POSIDONIA SEA TOURISM FORUM REGISTRATION
REGISTER HERE